Jump to content
Chapala.com Webboard

Recommended Posts

A neighbour tells me that today is a holiday. Friday is Constitution Day. Maybe they used to celebrate it on the first Monday in February.

Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, Upfront said:

current Meixcan federal policy is to move holidays to the previous monday

I thought Amlo cancelled that.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a pretty good calendar as it denotes "days off" for National Holidays, if different from the actual day.  Also shows "observances" such as Candlemas, tomorrow.  Some are obscure, but helpful to know.  Years ago we walked to dinner one evening in May and every place in Ajijic Centro was mobbed with 20-40 year-olds.  Turned out it was Teacher's Day and pretty much every teacher from Guadalajara was in Ajijic for dinner!

Holidays and Observances in Mexico in 2021

Date   Name Type
Jan 1 Friday New Year's Day National holiday
Jan 6 Wednesday Day of the Holy Kings Observance
Feb 1 Monday Day off for Constitution Day National holiday
Feb 2 Tuesday Candlemas Observance
Feb 5 Friday Constitution Day National holiday
Feb 14 Sunday Valentine's Day Observance
Feb 17 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Observance, Christian
Feb 24 Wednesday Flag Day Observance
Mar 15 Monday Day off for Benito Juárez's Birthday Memorial National holiday
Mar 18 Thursday Oil Expropriation Day Observance
Mar 20 Saturday March Equinox Season
Mar 21 Sunday Benito Juárez's Birthday Memorial National holiday
Mar 28 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance, Christian
Apr 1 Thursday Maundy Thursday Bank holiday
Apr 2 Friday Good Friday Bank holiday
Apr 3 Saturday Holy Saturday Observance
Apr 4 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance, Christian
Apr 30 Friday Children's Day Observance
May 1 Saturday Labor Day / May Day National holiday
May 5 Wednesday Battle of Puebla (Cinco de Mayo) Common local holiday
May 10 Monday Mother's Day Observance
May 13 Thursday Ascension Day Observance
May 15 Saturday Teacher's Day Observance
May 23 Sunday Whit Sunday Observance
Jun 3 Thursday Corpus Christi Observance
Jun 20 Sunday Father's Day Observance
Jun 20 Sunday June Solstice Season
Aug 15 Sunday Assumption of Mary Observance
Sep 15 Wednesday Shout of Dolores Observance
Sep 16 Thursday Independence Day National holiday
Sep 22 Wednesday September Equinox Season
Oct 12 Tuesday Columbus Day Observance
Oct 31 Sunday Halloween Observance
Nov 1 Monday All Saints' Day Observance
Nov 2 Tuesday All Souls' Day Observance
Nov 15 Monday Day off for Revolution Day Memorial National holiday
Nov 20 Saturday Revolution Day Memorial National holiday
Nov 21 Sunday Christ the King Day Observance
Dec 8 Wednesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Observance
Dec 12 Sunday Day of the Virgin of Guadalupe Bank holiday
Dec 21 Tuesday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Friday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
Dec 25 Saturday Christmas Day National holiday, Christian
Dec 28 Tuesday Day of the Holy Innocents Observance
Dec 31 Friday New Year's Eve Observance
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Notice how there's no national or bank holidays between May Day and Sept. 16 Independence Day? When I built my house, the construction took place between those days, in the summer. I didn't plan it so for that reason, but it meant I never had to give the crew any days off during the work week.

Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Bisbee Gal said:

This is a pretty good calendar as it denotes "days off" for National Holidays, if different from the actual day.  Also shows "observances" such as Candlemas, tomorrow.  Some are obscure, but helpful to know.  Years ago we walked to dinner one evening in May and every place in Ajijic Centro was mobbed with 20-40 year-olds.  Turned out it was Teacher's Day and pretty much every teacher from Guadalajara was in Ajijic for dinner!

Holidays and Observances in Mexico in 2021

Date   Name Type
Jan 1 Friday New Year's Day National holiday
Jan 6 Wednesday Day of the Holy Kings Observance
Feb 1 Monday Day off for Constitution Day National holiday
Feb 2 Tuesday Candlemas Observance
Feb 5 Friday Constitution Day National holiday
Feb 14 Sunday Valentine's Day Observance
Feb 17 Wednesday Ash Wednesday Observance, Christian
Feb 24 Wednesday Flag Day Observance
Mar 15 Monday Day off for Benito Juárez's Birthday Memorial National holiday
Mar 18 Thursday Oil Expropriation Day Observance
Mar 20 Saturday March Equinox Season
Mar 21 Sunday Benito Juárez's Birthday Memorial National holiday
Mar 28 Sunday Palm Sunday Observance, Christian
Apr 1 Thursday Maundy Thursday Bank holiday
Apr 2 Friday Good Friday Bank holiday
Apr 3 Saturday Holy Saturday Observance
Apr 4 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance, Christian
Apr 30 Friday Children's Day Observance
May 1 Saturday Labor Day / May Day National holiday
May 5 Wednesday Battle of Puebla (Cinco de Mayo) Common local holiday
May 10 Monday Mother's Day Observance
May 13 Thursday Ascension Day Observance
May 15 Saturday Teacher's Day Observance
May 23 Sunday Whit Sunday Observance
Jun 3 Thursday Corpus Christi Observance
Jun 20 Sunday Father's Day Observance
Jun 20 Sunday June Solstice Season
Aug 15 Sunday Assumption of Mary Observance
Sep 15 Wednesday Shout of Dolores Observance
Sep 16 Thursday Independence Day National holiday
Sep 22 Wednesday September Equinox Season
Oct 12 Tuesday Columbus Day Observance
Oct 31 Sunday Halloween Observance
Nov 1 Monday All Saints' Day Observance
Nov 2 Tuesday All Souls' Day Observance
Nov 15 Monday Day off for Revolution Day Memorial National holiday
Nov 20 Saturday Revolution Day Memorial National holiday
Nov 21 Sunday Christ the King Day Observance
Dec 8 Wednesday Feast of the Immaculate Conception Observance
Dec 12 Sunday Day of the Virgin of Guadalupe Bank holiday
Dec 21 Tuesday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Friday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
Dec 25 Saturday Christmas Day National holiday, Christian
Dec 28 Tuesday Day of the Holy Innocents Observance
Dec 31 Friday New Year's Eve Observance

Thanks for that detailed summary. Some gardeners were working Feb 1-some weren't. I assume something similar will happed February 5th

Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, ednet94 said:

He was going to cancel it, but canceled those plans when covid arrived.

Confusing times

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...