Chapala.com Webboard

I know dog owners love their dogs, so please read this.

Two things about me. 1) I am a dog lover, 2) Right now, I have a lot of time on my hands, and 3) I am an avid researcher on just about anything that crosses my mind and interests and may concern me..

After we paid over $1,500 for a 7kg bag of alleged "SENIOR" dog food at a vet's office, in a fancy, shiny bag, I did some research.

I just googled "Are fancy packaged dog foods better?"

I suggest you do the same:

https://www.google.com/search?sxsrf=ACYBGNQhcxhhm1ANyNzQlfhhX-EJdNfBeQ%3A1582987631548&ei=b3laXsf8IMi4tQWbu63wDg&q=best+dog+foods+on+the+market&oq=are+fancy+bagged+dog+foods+any+better+than+simple%2C+plain+bags&gs_l=psy-ab.1.0.0i71l4.0.0..666125...0.2..0.0.0.......0......gws-wiz.hMA9mbAmLsI

Look under the section, "PEOPLE ALSO ASK." You will find things such as this:

"Hill's Pet Nutrition is facing the wrath of dog owners who say their pets became ill or died after eating canned food recalled nationwide for elevated levels of vitamin D that can poison a pooch.February 8, 2019. There are several good takeaways from what you will find.

You can also Google: "Dog food recalls"  and see who and why.

Bottom line IMO: For all the fancy packaging and high prices, for the companies, its almost always about the bottom line. Just because something is in writing, don't think it's always true. 

I hope this helps some people and dogs.

• Confused 1
  • Sad 3

On 3/4/2020 at 5:15 PM, virgo lady said:

If you love your dog, then don't feed it dog food.

I can assure you I love my dog and she's always gotten dog food. I occasionally cook something up for her, but not often. She's 12 years old and has never been sick a day in her life.

after I changed my dogs diet, from good human food to Hills dry food ( and I add some lean ground beef ), her health improved a lot, and she is almost 15 now.  Not going back to human food ( although Hills is not cheap )

• Like 1