Chapala.com Webboard

Guitars, Airplanes and Fishing

Hello all you lovely people,

My wife and I are exploring a move to La Ribera and to that end, we're heading down in December to reconnoiter. I have been happily watching all the videos from the two Jerrys and have learned a bunch.....but!!

I have a few passions:

1. I have been playing guitar for 55 years (you'd think I'd be better at it than I am) and love love love the Blues and Rock and Roll. I am hoping there are a few other old farts also so inclined. I plan to come down, once we move, with a few guitars and an amp or two. I am guessing gear is pretty available in Guadalajara??

2. I have been flying since 1979 and I do see a little airport up the road right on the lake. Any pilots out there?

3. I am a very passionate Largemouth Bass and Trout angler. I keep reading reports of some of the best Bass fishing in the world on Laguna Chapala or nearby. Looks like there is even a fishing club. I will surely be looking for some folks who want to drink coffee and swap a few lies!  Oh...almost forgot...I have been hearing rumors about Peacock Bass. Do I have to go to the Amazon or have a few made it north?

We have joined the Society and been in contact with a few folks.

We are coming down in December for our first "feet on the ground" look see! Hope to meet a few of you.

David Rodwell, Winston Salem, NC

david@davidrodwell.com

• Like 1

There have been 2 international Large Mouth bass tournaments in Lake Chapala now. The Peacock Bass rumour is pure BS. Pic is in front of the Town of Chapala.

There may be some stocked Rainbow Trout fishing in Michoacan and I believe that there are some rivers and streams in Mexico stocked with Golden.

chapala bass 2.jpg

• Like 1