Chapala.com Webboard

Need repair person for instant-on water heater

Me being one of them. These heaters need maintenance just like others. I have already changed the batteries which is always the first thing to do. Interestingly enough, I can now hear my small igoto pump working again and now have on demand hot water again. I think it may have "drowned" in the last big rain. It's under my tinaco but I think I need to protect it from driving sideways rain.

I would still like to know the name of a knowledgeable repair person though.

Intermittent problems like that are a real pain, because you know it will fail again when you need it most. No answers to this thread other than Tom, and we've followed similar threads for years. No one appears to have the skills necessary to be recommended, at least amongst those who frequent this Board.

That's because every single plumber I've had here is self-taught or learned from Papa. And none has taken training in boilers, and the variety of same. And that leaves us with people checking for blockages and replacing thermostats all the time. Now, it seems, I will be getting a pass-through, but I won't have it installed until I can find a trained soul for the problems that will undoubtedly come.

Did anyone come up with the name of a plumber that can repair instant on (on demand) water heaters? Mine is an Lenisco brand.

People on this board have been asking for years. And no one has ever been able to provide an answer. I've gone though 7 or 8 myself... none properly trained. All just guessing at the problem. And wanting to replace expensive parts, half the time without even looking at it.

My "smart" plumber from Jocotepec finally showed up today. He said I needed a new thermostat. He is coming back Wednesday with a new one. I wonder if it will solve the problem. I have to do something as I really do need hot water in the house.