Chapala.com Webboard

Carbon Wok acero negro

MyHomeSweetHome

Guest RevImmigrant

I got mine at Toyo in Guadalajara. I'm no expert, but I would think that the stainless steel would have a shiny finish like any stainless steel cooking pot (think Farberware as an example).

Toyo is an Japanese supplier of Asian food products and cooking implements.. They have an extensive wholesale operation and a small retail location immediately across the street. They are located in Guadalajara at Manuel M. Dieguez No. 144 in Ladron de Guevara. The street runs one way (north) and Toyo is in the block between Calle Justo Sierra and Av. Mexico. If you're familiar with the antique market that's held every Sunday morning on Av. Mexico just east of Av. Americas in GDL Manuel M. Dieguez intersects Av. Mexico at just about where the antique market begins.

To: MyHomeSweetHome - A carbon steel wok is black in colour and gives a far more authentic cooking result. It needs to be seasoned before using. (Wash completely, then coat the interior completely with vegetable oil and heat slowly on the stove (preferably gas) until the oil begins to smoke. Let the pan cool and simply wipe out with a paper towel. However, like a cast iron fying pan or pot you want to constantly maintain the oil sheen and try and avoid having to scrub with steel wool pads or harsh soaps as you'll have to season again if you want a proper finish. After a few uses you should find that your wok builds a "finish" that's easy to maintain. When you buy your wok it should have a definite weight and and feel somewhat heavy. If it's very lightweight then it might not be acceptable. A good wok will last a lifetime and is designed to accept very intense direct heat from an open flame.