Chapala.com Webboard

how to say "in time"

lakeheron

• 6 months later...

a cerveza a tiempo in Oaxaca means room temperature, I guess it could be just in the nick of time too...

almost right, but it must be cerveza "aL tiempo", and not only in Oaxaca, in all Mexico, a beverage "al tiempo" means room temperature (not from the cooler). Because a tiempo (missing L) means in time.... ^_^

I am an expert on that, because I get sick usually if I dring some cool beverage or with ice, so I ask for aaaallll my drinks "al tiempo"...

By the way Lkeheron, go to www.cfe.gob.mx and set a user and password, they you will be able to see your CFE bill anyway on time....and better, go to your bank and get the cfe bill ("domiciliado") that means, it will be charged automaticaly to your bank account. I do that and have forgotten to pay cfe .... if you need help to set the user in cfe site, pm me, I will help u....

Doberwoman, I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but the use of 'al tiempo' to describe a beverage served at room temperature is incorrect. The correct term, as other posters have mentioned, is 'a tiempo'.

Thanks More Liana, I could have been wrong since the only place I have ever been offered room temperature beer is at the huge fiestas in Oaxaca and for many of the people there Spanish is a second language but in the village they say a tiempo...correct or not.

• 2 weeks later...

"a temperatura ambiente" is the non-idomatic way to say room temperature. In EdoMex we say "al tiempo" and I always thought this was correct mexican spanish. In other countries it can be different with the idiomatic use of prepositions.

"a temperatura ambiente" is the non-idomatic way to say room temperature. In EdoMex we say "al tiempo" and I always thought this was correct mexican spanish. In other countries it can be different with the idiomatic use of prepositions.