Chapala.com Webboard

Finally going to Chapala in January!!

Hola Everyone,

We are so excited, we just made airline reservations and are finally going to visit the Chapala area in January for my birthday. My husband has been there a couple of times before, but this will be my first time. I have a book about Chapala and have been studying!

We're checking it out to see if we'd like to retire there. I have 4 years to go. We lived in Puerto Vallarta for 3 years and loved it but the summers are a killer with the humidity and he doesn't want to move back there. We are living in Tijuana right now, but I sure don't want to retire here. Hubby is working at the Tijuana airport but he can transfer to the Guadalajara airport when we move. I cross the border every day to work in the San Diego area as a nurse and maybe I could find a p/t small job doing similar work (?) If not, it's OK, I'm anxious to volunteer or teach English. Luis is Mexican and I'm American. I am a permanent legal resident of Mexico. He speaks good English and I speak OK Spanish.

We'll be staying at Hotel Balneario in San Juan Cosala. Hubby stayed there many years ago and liked it. Trip Advisor gave it a good rating. What do you think?

Any restaurants you'd recommend? Looks like Viva Mexico/Tia Lupita is a winner in San Juan and Letra CH/Restaurante Del Mar is recommended in Chapala. Do you agree?

We'd also like to check out the surrounding towns, maybe one of them would be a better fit (?) Once we're moved, we'd be interested in renting a casa with 2 (or 3) bedrooms in a typical Mexican neighborhood. I was told to check the bulletin board at a supermarket in Chapala for rentals.

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas of things we should see while there. I hope to meet some of you on our trip. Thanks in advance for any info.

Muchas Gracias,

Sue (Susana in Mexico)