Chapala.com Webboard

May I ask some advice?

modeeper

Good day. I'm in GDL west, been here for a year this time. I live in a little pueblo that hasn't much to offer other than a trove of very nice locals.

I'm a musician and have to travel downtown to even hear music. I'm wondering about the possibilities of living in or near Chapala. There's live music there, right? Musicians are appreciated and paid? Is it a fun place to live?

I am retired and on a rather small pension. I couldn't afford much for rent, don't earn much. Is it possible to get a little house somewhere outside the zona dorada for 2-3000 a month?

I'm quite fluent in Spanish and retired from teaching English as a Foreign Language. Any work in those areas?

I haven't been to Chapala for 20 years. Last time I was there we had a bad water shortage and the running joke was owning mud-front properties.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Mo

Yes, yes, yes, yes and yes. You will fit right in, lots of musicians, you can sit in on gigs, make friends. Your rental budget is a bit low but, I think, doable in Chapala outside the historic area, and possibly you can find a casita within your budget if you are not too picky. You are used to living like a Mexican, so that helps, budgetwise. There is a guy here who has a newsletter of upcoming music events. PM me and I will ask him to put you on the email list. Tell us more about your music and you just might get an invitation for at least a sofa to sleep on when you visit! As long as you don't play the bassoon at midnight;)

Thanks Jay!

Well I started at the guitar about the time of Elvis, Johnny Cash, Little Richard, Chuck Berry and Jerry Lee Lewis. Most guys grow a pot, lose some hair and quit playing .. I was too dumb for that.

This trip I've been playing with The Fachada de Pierdra and Chester Blues Band. Played with those guys (and girls) when I lived here before as well. They are fairly famous round here.