Jump to content


Photo

Protection against possible Internet Scam - DCWG


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 HelperGuy

HelperGuy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,096 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 April 2012 - 05:44 PM

You may have heard that a group of hackers planned to shut down the Internet this coming July 9, 2012. These guys were arrested, and the FBI swapped out their bad servers for good ones, but not before they set up a system to prevent residual attacks. Here's a quote from the DNS Changer Working Group (DCWG) about it all:

The DCWG was created to help remediate Rove Digital’s malicious DNS servers. The DCWG helps monitor DNS servers run by ISC, under court order, in the former Rove Digital colo space.

The DCWG is an ad hoc group of subject matter experts, and includes members from organizations such as Georgia Tech, Internet Systems Consortium, Mandiant, National Cyber-Forensics and Training Alliance, Neustar, Spamhaus, Team Cymru, Trend Micro, and the University of Alabama at Birmingham.
You can read more about the arrest of the Rove Digital principals here, and in the FBI Press Release. This page is hosted at the Georgia Institute of Technology, under a research grant provided by the Office of Naval Research.

You can check your own computer to make sure everything is alright, by clicking here: http://www.dcwg.org/ This marks one of the first times a world-wide effort has been mounted to keep the rest of us safe. I'm liking it. ... Mike

#2 JayBearII

JayBearII

    JayBearII

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,684 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:La Canacinta, Chapala, Jalisco
  • Interests:health insurance and retirement plans, gardening and agriculture (especially organics), water exercise, travel in Mexico and abroad

Posted 28 April 2012 - 07:46 PM

Thanks Mike. We will check it out.

#3 colibri

colibri

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Lake side

Posted 28 April 2012 - 10:04 PM

That's exactly what happened to me. I was infected by it. That is how it works.

"When the user of an infected computer clicked on a search result link displayed through a search engine query, the Malware caused the computer to be re-routed to a different website. Instead of being brought to the website to which the user asked to go, the user was brought to a website designated by the defendants."

On top of it (that was going on in the same week) I have used a software called Austologics, a duplicate file finder. I did not notice at the time, but there was already a checked box to open it with "ask.com" which I had to get rid of after. That Austologics is from Australia (ausies).

#4 lcscats

lcscats

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 470 posts

Posted 29 April 2012 - 07:13 AM

Run spybot (free version) once a week or so. Besure to update before running program.

#5 Frog

Frog

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 29 April 2012 - 07:37 AM

Go to www.dns-ok.us and it will check your computer for the problem. Green page means everything in your computer is OK. Red page means you need to take action. If you get a red page , talk to some techies as to a solution. Frog

#6 Catinmex

Catinmex

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 307 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 29 April 2012 - 07:40 AM

Thanks for the link. I checked and am ok!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users