Chapala.com Webboard

Painter Recommended

tombo

Andres Nuñez not long ago did excellent work on a difficult painting job for us. With recent rainy weather and two children going back to school, this single dad is giving a special offer this month on painting jobs--20 pesos an hour. Bonus: he speaks good English. His phone: 331-742-83-92.

I would never pay a guy that does excellent work 20 pesos per hour.  What does he normally charge?  I have all the tools and equipment including high quality brushes and every size of ladder up to 8 meters.  Trouble is, I can't get to this until some time in October but once it gets rolling, it is a big job painting this house.

I am really picky about prep, masking, drop clothes and thorough brushing.  He needs to be OK with some supervision.  I'm an expert and very meticulous painter and have not been very happy with anyone I've hired for this work thus far.

Please.............   before you judge, could you please read Deborah's post just above, "Need a Painter?" and then my response to it.

When Andres Nuñez came to my door approx. 4 months ago, it was the day after the night his wife could not breathe. An experienced house painter of many years he quoted me 60 pesos/hr. which is more realistic. It is obvious with the "special offer of 20 pesos/hr",  he is now desperate! Very desperate.

To have him come to you for a day to test his skills would be a very gracious and honourable gesture. I am almost positive he would know all about "prep, masking, drop sheets and brushing",  along with fancy tools, equipment, 8 metre ladder and quality brushes. Please pay his bus fare as it is obvious why he was hitching a ride. Then, by all means, do come back to us with a report.