Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
J.Miller

Does anyone know if there are classes for bronze work?

13 posts in this topic

I am an artist and my usual medium is oil painting but I have always done a little clay sculpting and now I have an interest in learing how to work with metal. I don't kow if I can make the time t do it as it seems the longer that I live here the busier I get but I would at least like to talk to someone (a metal sculptor if possible) to get an idea of what is involved.

Google "Lost Wax process for bronze sculpture" to get an idea of how time consuming the process is. You can also look up "Sharon Milligan" who has a studio in San Miguel de Allende that specializes in her own bronze sculptures. Lots of time, lots of patience...there's a reason they aren't cheap.

Thanks! I will follow up on your suggestion.

Are you in Ajijic or Chapala? You might want to get in touch with highly acclaimed local artist Estela Hidalgo. Someone will be able to give you her contact information. She's fabulous, and works in lost wax.

Can anyone tell me how or where to find Estela Hidalgo?

Another suggestion: Ask at the next Ajijic Society of the Arts meeting. Estela has been one of the guest speakers. Someone might know of another person to see. The next meeting is at 10 a.m. on Monday, May 7 at La Bodega Restaurant on 16 Septiembre in Ajijic. All are welcome.

Unless something has changed ...and that's entirely possible... you don't actually work with metal when you're sculpting for a bronze. We had a wax, clay mixture the we sculpted...then our instructor cut it apart ARGH!! and did the lost wax in his foundry....walah! Bronze sculpture! Very spendy process. Jim stafford was our instructor and an absolutely fabulous wild life sculptor http://www.24-7press...pture-77667.php